Keys controlling GR55

Started by violinja, March 23, 2024, 08:31:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

violinja

Hey everyone, I'm very new to the world of MIDI. I have a Roland GR-55 and a midi Zeta violin. Typically I use this violin to play through the GR-55. So far, I'm in love, but...

I'm working on a new project and I'd like to incorporate keys as part of that project. I have a MIDI keys controller that I would like to use and have set it up with my DAW. My question is: is the GR-55 capable of receiving commands from another MIDI device and sending its sounds to my DAW for recording/live performance? I've read the GR-55 user manual and I'm left feeling slightly confused. Can anyone walk me through this?

Thanks in advance,
-Violinja

Chumly

GR55 as a MIDI sound module? (Not Possible)

https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=3860.0
I think it's much more interesting to live not knowing than to have answers which might be wrong. - Richard P. Feynman

Elantric

billbax

Thanks Elantric for posting the GR-55 re-amping movie. It seems many folk think analog GK separate string signals are MIDI data.

The better GR-55 re-amping (sound module) movie is my PCM piano demo. It was good to get away from my usual Wishbone rock stuff, and included a groovy 6/4 time-signature (attempted Purdy shuffle sort of works), with four or five Fagen-ish GR-55 piano voices. Guitar and PCM string voices are easy to re-amp, but articulate PCM instruments like a piano need a lot of audio sequencer tweaking.

Deep and extensive GR-55 patch searching is only possible with re-amping.

violinja

Quote from: Chumly on March 23, 2024, 08:54:18 PMGR55 as a MIDI sound module? (Not Possible)

https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=3860.0