VG-99 with 1.0 1.01 firmware in 2024 - benefits of going 1.04 ?

Started by mixolydian, March 03, 2024, 04:46:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mixolydian

I've been using a VG-99 for about 2 years, and I'm getting better at programming patches on it.
So far, I use only the ones I programmed.
I just did the procedure to find out which firmware I got, and it is the first one, 1.0 - 1.01.
I'm currently reading the procedure for a firmware update here in the forum.
So I'm getting a little nervous since there is the possibility of me ruining the whole thing.
(I promise I'm reading everything about it; already downloaded everything needed.)

So my question is: what would be different on the unit once I upgrade?
If pretty much all stays the same, I might consider leaving it at 1.01.

Thanks for your advice on this.

VG-99  -  VG-88V2  -  GR-55  -  GT-10  -  GT-5  -  USER
in a cover band  - Rubik , 80s stuff.

gumtown

I am not sure what is in updates 1.02 and 1.03,
but update 1.04 has only added GK SET options for 4 types of piezo pickup.

Caution:  The appropriate update file must be used for this update process and depends on the current version of your VG-99.  Attempting to update the VG-99 with the incorrect files could cause possible damage.

Use the following steps to check the current version number of your VG-99:   While holding the CATEGORY and PAGE Left (< ) buttons, turn on the power. The current version will show in the display next to "Firm:".

If the current version is 1.03, use files in folder "vg99_v104_for103" and execute it.
   If the current version is 1.01  or 1.02, use files in folder "vg99_v104_for102" and  execute it. 

Never turn off the power while the update is in process.            
  System Update Instructions