Godin Multiac ACS Slim Additional Electronics.

Started by Kandinsky, December 06, 2021, 07:07:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kandinsky

I'm about to order the Paradis Polybass and Woodi for this guitar but also wondering if I can pick someones brains about adding an additional pickup inside the chamber.

Here's the reason first: I've been playing this guitar for a few years unplugged, due to being bed bound until recently. Most of the time writing songs and developing my playing technique. As a result of playing like this I've became very emphatic on the percussive pops and slaps on the strings and top:- almost like a double bass and I like the sound.The problem is now when I plug in, the piezo gives more of the "tuneful" sound which I also like but would prefer both sounds on different signal paths in order that I can apply different effects to each.

I've read some horrific review on the LR Baggs Lyric Mic which sits under the bridge, however, these scathing reviews are negatively focused on exactly the pops, string noise and slaps that I want, which leads me to believe that the Lyric Mic might be the ideal candidate for the job.

I also see that Godin's latest offering has employed the LR Baggs Lyric with their Hex pickup.(Alas no 13 pin though).

My question is that the Lyric Mic comes with an endpin preamp but I'll be ordering the 2 jack + 13 pin from Matthias at Paradis (it fits the ACS Slim output cavity with 5mm to spare), therefore; Is the LR Baggs preamp redundant and can the existing Godin board can do the job for both the Hex piezo and Lyric Mic?

Will I need an additional preamp inside the guitar for the Mic?

I'll be switching the LR Baggs thumbwheel for a volume pot in one of the holes next to the Godin sliders, well 2 pots actually because I'm putting the Polybass on its own pot.