dumb axon ax100 question

Started by pinkjimiphoton, June 20, 2022, 11:54:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pinkjimiphoton

is there something i need to do to get my axon to recognize a wavetable daughterboard so the actual "outputs" of the axon will transmit the wavetable daughterboard?

i recently got a bluechip axon ax100, didn't have the wavetable, so i bought a dreamblaster x2 for it to check it out.

the axon is working with the dry signal, and i've verified its working as a midi controller by midi'ing my gr09 to it as a slave... but i can't seem to find where to "turn on" or "choose" the wavetable card.

the wavetable's led is lighting up so i assume its working.

i have to wait on a couple parts to come in, as the memory battery had literally rotted off its leads, so i'm replacing it with a modified AA battery holder and a couple 1.2v nicd cells.

i really appreciate the advice. total newb beyond roland stuff.
thanks!

Chumly

It's not a dumb question at all, but I'm not sure how helpful I can be.  I bought an Axon AX100sb Mk1 with the Axon pickup brand new many years ago, it came with the OEM Yamaha daughterboard and everything still works fine.  I can't comment on what exactly would happen if you do not use the OEM Yamaha daughterboard, nor if there's been mods, repairs, damage due to hot swapping, etc.
I think it's much more interesting to live not knowing than to have answers which might be wrong. - Richard P. Feynman

PHac

Hi,

did you progress on this? It is very similar to what I am facing with this device.
I have in fact 2 AX-100 units and both having same issue. When using internal soundboard, the output is almost inaudible. First I thought there is no output at all, but when I turn the amp volume to nearly maximum, some sounds can be heard. I am sure the problem is not in the inernal soundboard, because I tested original Yamaha board and also the Dreamblaster X2 I bought at Serdashop - both behave the same.