Live Rig?

Started by Tek2425, May 11, 2013, 09:00:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tek2425

Has anyone had a chance to consider a live FTP rig? Amp, cabinet, routing etc... Pros / cons...
If it ain't broke, tweak it til it is...

shawnb-fgn

I'm now experimenting with the FTP with a laptop (ASUS Ultrabook, Win7 & i7) and an interface (Scarlett 2i4).   This rig is the size & weight of two small books.  For now, I'm running the FTP bundle alone; I'll invest in more VSTs once I'm comfortable with the rig. 

In this configuration I'm feeding our PA, which is an ancient Mackie 12 channel mixer, a QSC RMX amp & a couple JBL JRX112s (which I hate, but they work for now...).  This PA is not portable.  If I were to take this on the road, I'd get myself a pair of powered speakers. 

I want to work in a pedal unit, haven't done that yet.   I may just bring my FC-300 and RC-300, just because, as a guitarist, I have a compulsion to drag bags of gear around... 

I'm a hobbyist.  I hang out with a group of friends most Friday nights & we blow out the work week with some cathartic madness!  We're a jam band - the simpler the chord progression the better...  We are blessed to have four exceedingly good drummers who take turns; since we share the rehearsal space with a band, there are TWO FULL KITS in the room and they've taken to pairing up a lot lately. 

So I've gotta be able to be loud enough to be heard above TWO drummers.  I insist on being very, very clean, even at that volume, and I'm happy to say this configuration works. 
Dogmatic attachment to the supposed merits of a particular structure hinders the search for an appropriate structure.
- Fripp

Tek2425

Thanks Shawnb,
     Everybody knows more gear is better gear  ;D