GT1000CORE Shortcomings?

Started by ajb1965, October 12, 2020, 06:49:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ajb1965

Hi All,

I'm building a pedalboard based rig around the GT1000 Core. It's backordered and should be here in a couple of weeks so I have time to plan the rest of the board and get it all here at the same time.  I've had some experience with the big GT so I know it's amazing but I was wondering if there are any effects that it doesn't do so well with or doesn't have, or any effects you folks always keep outside the GT.  I've got my 2 fav drives (Lightspeed and Plumes) that I'll be putting in front but I've got plenty of room on the board for any other goodies.

I play in a rock cover band that ranges from Beatles to Blink 182 but at home I love ambient tones and drones and even some prog rock when my arthritis isn't flaring up lol.  Oh and I do have the SY-1 already :P

Thanks for any and all suggestions!

Cheers
AJB

Smokey 57

Hi there ajb1965,

I have the GT1000 and I've had it for just over a year - and only just recently have I been happy with my overall set-up.
What I found (and it might be just my particular setup) is that the Overdrive/Distortion offerings in the 1000 have been less
than pleasant, somewhat harsh and glassy. I use my GT through a PA amp setup and not a guitar amp, so I don't know a comparison
with a guitar amp.
So, what I have now are 3 external units for my drive/distortion - these are the Wampler Tumnus (for that slight break-up); the MXR
Timmy (slightly more drive and edge) and just recently the Fender Pugilist (full twin gain engines that rock my GT's heart out!). I
have these in a series loop in one Send/Return, and the other S/R is occupied by a Specular3 Reverb unit - the other area I feel I'm let
down by the GT. I love ambient tones (AKA Reverb) and I don't see a lot of choice in the GT, with only one real "Ambient" reverb. So,