Boss RC-505 Loopstation

Started by Zoppe, April 04, 2013, 02:51:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

plexified

Describe what you want to do , so I can follow you better. If you want a 16 and a 32 simultaneously on separate tracks you can do that no problem. Whats a 'multiply' function? I'm not familiar with that one.

aliensporebomb

Pigtronix infinity has a feature called Sync Multi.   Sync Multi mode lets you set the length of loop 2 to 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 times the length of loop 1.

I'm somewhat wondering if my RC-300 has a similar-esque feature which would apply to the RC-505.   I'm about 10 miles away from my equipment, I'll check when I return.
My music projects online at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/

GK Devices:  Roland VG-99, Boss GP-10, Boss SY-1000.

Syph

I have extensive experience on the RC300 and from what I have read the 505 seems the same in this regard.
You can set the loop lengths manually in advance, ie, track 1 loops for 2 bars, track 2 loops for 4 bars, etc
There are also options to set loop length to Auto, so the length of the first loop sets the length of other loops. In practice this means a 2 bar loop on track 1 means a 2 bar loop on track 2, 3, etc
There is also a setting called "Free", when in free looping mode it will allow loops on subsequent tracks to be multiples or divisions of the first loop length, but it goes one step further.
The first loop recorded will (via deduction) set the tempo. Once the tempo is set, any subsequent loops will be ANY number of bars long. I use the RC300 with preset tempos, but no preset bar length. This lets me record ANY length phrase, as long it is a multiple of A BAR in that tempo.
So I can freely record 1 bar on track/loop 1, then 17 bars on track/loop 2, then 43 bars on track/loop 3.
This also works the other way, in that I can record a 19 bar loop on track/loop 1, then record a 1 bar loop on track/loop 2, etc etc