TEENSY - VG/GR Rack project

Started by ploveday, January 16, 2013, 05:33:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ploveday

Hey guys,
I'm in the process of combining my VG99 and GR55 into a single 1U rack mount unit, controllable from the FC300.
I'm almost at the point of getting a proto run of PCBs made, so I thought I would post the schematics here to see if anyone can spot any silly mistakes, or make any suggestions for improvements.  I'm only an electronic hobbyist (my day job is computer programming), so I'd appreciate any feedback from those who may be better versed with electronics than I.
The idea here is to use the VG and GR main cards, minus their dislays and front panels, controlled from a pair of CPUs via MIDI.  Simple editing will be implemented via a front panel interface, but mostly this will still be done via USB/MIDI.
More complex control mappings from the FC300 (and whatever else) will be allowed, and as we drive the Control pedals directly (as well as the expression inputs), these assigns are freely available to us.  So not only more assings, but the ability to assign Gr55's Ctrl pedal to any MIDI event.  Which means the ability to (finally!) externally assign Hold.
Anyway, the software is in the early stages, but anything is possible there. 
As the schematic isn't particularly well documented, here's a bit of a summary of the design:
CPU sheet:
2x Teensy 3.0 modules. These things are freakin' awesome :)
* Slave CPU:
- provides 3 MIDI interfaces for VG99, GR55 and external MIDI connectors.
- provides most of the GK interface, such as volume and switches out, also drives Ctl and exp on VG and GR.
* Master CPU:
- MIDI4 interface - to FC300 RRC2
- USB MIDI interface
- Front panel interface
    -- SPI access to uSD card and TFT display (160x128 1.8")
    -- Rotary encoder and buttons for input
  - RS485 Interface
* CPUs are 'networked' via I2C (SCL, SDA) and an extra line for slave to indicate MIDI data avilable for master (to avoid polling)
MIDI Sheet: