For those of You a Getting Gigs and Having a Turnout... Tips?

Started by Threeleggedyoyo, July 31, 2013, 10:56:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Threeleggedyoyo

Hey guys.

Been working hard on my set for about a year. I feel like I'm performing pretty well. But I don't know how to get shows, and more importantly, I  don't know how to get people to come out to them.

I had a show a couple weeks ago with three other bands. My opportunity to promote the show was limited, but the turnout was limited, too... whenever I talk to places about performing, they seem pretty open to me playing. But their attention always immediately goes to feeling out how many people I can get in the door.

I'm kind of frustrated, because I'm not a party planner. I'm a musician. If I wanted to go into marketing I'd have gone into marketing.

Anyhow, venting aside, apparently this is my job. Tips? I have a Facebook page, YouTube with videos... other than that I don't know how to get people in the door.  ???

Elantric