Guitar Patch With Ambient or Pad Option???

Started by Dunny Daw, August 09, 2021, 04:35:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dunny Daw

Hello All, and thanks for taking the time to read this,

I am a very basic guitarist, but sometimes assist my son when leading the worship at our local church.

I play basic guitar rhythm in the background, so need a predominantly guitar based patch, with reverb, delay and some gain/distortion selectable via CTRL switch.  I think all that is readily doable with the SY-1000, but I was mucking around with the SY when my son was over for a practice, and he commented that it would be nice to be able to select some of the ambient/pad/swell sounds at various times, as a background sound.

I have looked at a lot of the factory presets and there are some sounds that I think I could start with, but they are all designed with the dominant sound being the ambient etc sound, with almost no guitar sound.  I would like to be able to have the guitar sound, with one CTRL selecting the delay or gain, I suspect using the NORMAL effect line; and then a second CTRL selecting an ambient or swell sound, probably additionally.

Is there any preset/patch around that could do something similar?

Kevin M

You might start by taking a deep look at the ambient patches you mentioned and try to use them as a starting point for creating the patch you need.

Dunny Daw

Quote from: Kevin M on August 09, 2021, 08:20:05 PM
You might start by taking a deep look at the ambient patches you mentioned and try to use them as a starting point for creating the patch you need.

Thanks for the encouragement, and yes, of course I have already tried a number of times to modify existing patches to achieve what I was looking for.  Most times I resulted in patches where the blending of sounds one to the other were too sharp, discontiguous, and not acceptable.