New builder looking for guidance

Started by mmjarec, January 16, 2021, 04:24:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mmjarec

So I've recently discovered cyfi and bartolini after researching GK-3 and hex pickups. I have zero experience doing anything more than changing strings.

But I have decided to Try to do it myself and if All lease fails get a luthier to do it. I've decided to with nu v2

Start by ordering a warmoth strat with generic pickup cavities and no cutaways. I would have it as h/s/s or h/h/s but the large universal rout would let me use any configuration, right?

I was wanting to either use a hex alongside say an EMG single coil but not sure about how hex pickups interact with actives. If not possible would just do a h/s/s and use passives for both the neck and middle positions. I would really like to stick a bartolini humbucker in the neck along with the EQ preamp to go with it. Will this work also not sure the cavity is big enough since I'd like to have at least a 5 pot 1 switch setup.

First question should I get it with no pre drilled holes for the bridge/whammy bar? I was also thinking it would be nice to be able to use the hex pickup and others at same time with a mix control.

I've read up on guitarbuilder  builds and would like to do something similar minus all the relays and some complexities.

Looked up all this and my mind is melting I started with ubertar which looked optimal because I wouldn't need an external box but that guy I guess is out of business.

I planned on just ordering the body, hex pickup and bertolini pickup(along with the pre wired harness) and just handing them to a luthier and sending him wiring diagrams and links to here( I live in tiny town. Only luthier is ametuer).

But I worry that no warmoth body will hold all the electronics for  8 pits and two 3 way switches.