Buy a GT-10 in 2018?

Started by tlh.67, June 07, 2018, 08:02:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tlh.67

I can get a used GT-10 off of Guitar Center's site for $200-225... since it's BOSS, I don't sweat buying the gear used... but that being said, a brand new in-the-box GT-1 is $200 as well.  I am a disabled vet, so the GT-1000 is 'above my pay grade', as we used to say. 

Am I asking for headaches by going that far backward in the GT gene pool?

carlb

Although the GT-10 looks more impressive, the GT-1 is going to sound better. Especially if you want distorted tones from it.

If you're not going to play it through headphones or a PA-type speaker setup, perhaps consider a used Katana amp. It has the GT-1 tonal quality, plus an amplifier and speaker tuned especially for it ... really an excellent amp.

ES Les Paul, internal Roland GK
Boss SY-1000, Valeton Coral Amp pedal
Morningstar MC8 & MC6
QSC CP8 powered speaker

tlh.67

Quote from: carlb on June 07, 2018, 08:32:51 PM
Although the GT-10 looks more impressive, the GT-1 is going to sound better. Especially if you want distorted tones from it.

If you're not going to play it through headphones or a PA-type speaker setup, perhaps consider a used Katana amp. It has the GT-1 tonal quality, plus an amplifier and speaker tuned especially for it ... really an excellent amp.

Thanks for the reply -

I already have a Katana 100 1x12 & love it, just saw the GT-10 while browsing GC's used gear and wondered "hmmm, what about this?"... I was gonna buy the GT-1 next month, so I figured I would ask here first.

gumtown

The GT-10 will give you more control at your feet, and you don't have to use the GT-10 preamps.
Use the Katana preamps with the GT-10 connected in four cable method (4CM),
like this
Guitar > GT-10 input,
GT-10 S/R Loop Send > Katana input,
Katana S/R Loop Send > GT-10 S/R loop Return,
GT-10 L/Mono Output > Katana S/R loop Return.

There area a few pro's and con's for either,