BOSS GT100 Review

Started by conradkriel, February 18, 2014, 02:43:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

conradkriel

Hi All

I am new to this forum and have decided to post an initial review on the BOSS GT100 as a:

Thank you to all the forums & people who helped me on my purchase journey/decision.
Thank you to those players who have uploaded numerous files of information on how to get the best out of this pedal.
Tool for player owning Marshall Valvestate 8080 combo with active pickup guitar. There is very little on the net regarding THIS COMBINATION. 

BACKGROUND TO ME AND MY RIG:
I have been playing for about 20 years now and I am an average player.

Pre GT100 SETUP:
Esp Ltd HR351 FR (active pickups)
Fender Strat (Mexican): Heavily modified with all pickups changed-all passive (backup guitar)   
Large behringer pedalboard, Crybaby wah, Satchurator, Metal Muff, Bi muff pi with tone wicker, Screamin Blues pedal, Zak Wylde black label chorus, Boss DD3 delay,Boss NS2 Noise suppressor, Behringer tuner.
Marshall Valvestate 800 combo amp (not the greatest amp in the world but does the trick) 

I play rock, hard rock, blues rock etc and am influenced by Led Zep, Hendrix, Deep Purple, Sabbath etc. I play a combination of covers and originals   

WHY DID I DECIDE TO GO THE DIGITAL ROUTE:
We were practising one evening at a local studio and the other guitarist has a Zoom MFX. As we were playing through the covers he simply clicked a pedal and he had a "stones sound", another click of the pedal and he had a "pixies tone" another click he had a good guns and roses sound etc. All this whilst i was bent over adjusting my gain & tone settings (on the relevant analogue pedal) to attain the right sound!! Now being well versed on analogue pedals and also aware of the long standing debate of analogue versus digital, i started doing the research. I did tons of research on the net and then visited my local music shop and spent an hour plugged into a GT100 (with my ESP)