GR-55 - George Harrison - Slide Guitar

Started by riggy, February 03, 2014, 07:36:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

riggy

Hello all

I recently asked my guitar tutor to show me a few tricks on playing with a slide.  He asked me if I had a non-GK guitar that he could tune to G so I took one in last week.  He suggested that I would benefit from heavier strings which soon became more apparent once I started practicing on my own (it unfortunately sounded like cats being strangled) but I was well aware it was going to be a challenge.)  So I changed the strings from 10's to 11's and I got a much better result, nowhere near perfect but certainly a marked improvement.

Incidentally, I had Wayne Joness ship his UX-20 over to the UK a few weeks ago.  It's a fantastic addition to my setup and have been happily playing my slide guitar through the GR-55 but I am looking for a specific sound and as I am still fairly new to the 'World of Roland', I hope some of you guys might be able to help me out here.

The sound I am going for all centers around a couple of great little tunes by George Harrison that I am addicted to:

If You Believe:

That's The Way It Goes:

Some of you may remember the second song was played at the Concert For George by Joe Brown and the Bruvvers:

Any help appreciated, thanks for reading, Rich

Elantric

My trick for slide ( and my main interest for DSP Alt Tuning - regardless if GR-55. VG-99 or Tyler Variax) is Tune the real guitar strings to an Open tuning - for George Harrison that would typically be Open G - And i would kick on a Compressor for Slide Solos. This allows me to play Open Tuned Slide guitar parts with much sustain - but when the Slide solo is over, I use the DSP Alt tuning to convert my Guitar's Natural String's Open G tuning back to a DSP generated "Standard EADGBe Tuning"  - which allows me to play Rhythm Guitar in standard tuning.   

DF400

Quote from: Elantric on February 03, 2014, 09:56:17 AM