Sending the GR-55 Bank and Program Change from a laptop

Started by RedSparkleFade, January 09, 2023, 07:57:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RedSparkleFade

You cannot view this attachment.Hi, all, and thank you for inviting me in.

I am a drummer, but I'm the designated "tech guy" for my band, so I've been saddled with the task of setting up a laptop (Win 11, running a fully updated version of PreSonus Studio One 6) to send Bank and PC messages to two GR-55s being used by my guitar and bass player. They just want to play and not be bothered by stepping on pedals and navigating through patches and whatnot.

For purposes of this thread, I am working with the bass player's GR-55. It receives on MIDI channel 5, Map Select is set to "Fix", and I want to ONLY access patches in the User bank. Please refer to the attached screenshot. If I bring up this Studio One session, MANUALLY call up User banks by pressing the "User" button on the GR-55, and hit the Play icon, here's what happens:

1. Keeping in mind that NO MSB or LSB commands are assigned from the outset, the first event takes place at measure 1.2. It is a PC 10 message, and it calls up User 04-2.

2. Six sequential PC commands (11-16) follow at the intervals shown, and they access 04-3 through 06-02.

3. At measure 3, the PC command jumps to 127, which calls up User 43-2. So far, so good.

4. At measure 3.2, the PC command drops to 1. This where I want to call up User 43-3. And this is where I hit a brick wall.

Please understand I am not being lazy here. I have researched the hell out of this and spent an unhealthy amount of time punching in numbers to no avail. My question is very simply this: what combination of Program Change, MSB, and LSB messages do I need to use at measure 3.2 to call up User 43-3?

Just for the record, the MSB and LSB commands at 3.2 are both 0. So, combining this with PC 1 at 3.2, what happens? User 01-2 is called up.