Which guitars are easiest to install the GK-3 Pickup

Started by Durodon, December 13, 2021, 04:32:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Durodon

I have about 15 electric guitars and they are mostly classic like Strats, tele, SG, Les Paul, Mustang, semi hollow body (a Gretch with p90s and a Peavey with humbuckers); Danelectro Wild Thing; along with a Peavey AT-100, an 80s Washburn KC100, and a PRS SE 24 Custom. Which would be the easiest to install the GK-3? I have no experience of guitar modding. I know as this is an external kit, it is relatively simple compared to the internal one but on forums still experienced gigging guitarists complain about what a ballache it is to do this correctly and set it up with a Roland synth. Hope someone can advise. Thanks

roachone

I don't see a problem with any of them to be honest but I know it fits a Strat super easy!

Durodon

Well I have heard that there are issues with space between the pickups and the bridge - especially with tremolos. Also curved front guitars like PRS' people say are problematic. Gibsons seem to be more difficult than Fenders, but plenty of Fender owners have complained too, which is why you can buy a $40 small piece of  metal that attaches to the bridge to make the install easier.

Have you installed personally on Strats? I was thinking of my Japan Blue Lunar model which is oddly not that friendly to play - think it has high action and crap old fashioned tuners, but is the right shape at least and I would have found a use for it.

pasha811

The ideal guitar to install a GK3 on (which is thicker than GK2A) is a Guitar without pickguard.
Just for an example this one would be just right.
https://www.cortguitars.com/product/item.php?it_id=1608597829
I have an American Strat with a GK2A a Mexican Fender Player and an LTD ST213.
My experience so far :