VG-88 V2 Firmware Upgrade - FREE OF CHARGE !!!

Started by Cristofe, October 04, 2010, 05:27:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cristofe

Hey y'all, I'm no stranger to Roland 24 and 13 pin gear. I've owned and used most of it over the years
but only just recently dipped my toes into the VG waters with the acquisition of a VG-88. As it is a V1
I got a pretty good deal on it. I'm also an electronics tech and I've repaired and modded all sorts of gear.
I'm big into hardware,(and software), synths and I've performed many successful firmware upgrades.
Sooo....after reading the documentation, I didn't think that performing a V2 upgrade would be problematic.
I created the necessary jig plug and followed the directions carefully...i.e. powering up the VG while depressing the output selection and right cursor buttons. According to Roland's .pdf this should have
resulted in first "dL" being displayed and then "--". Instead what I got was "88" and "E3". Now the Roland
document is in the typical "rost in transration" format of most Roland docs so I thought ok, maybe they got it backwards. So I tried powering on while holding output select and LEFT cursor. This procedure resulted in "88" but then the requisite "--" characters appeared. So ok, the VG now appeared to be ready to receive data so using the recommended UpdSMF I initiated the boot update and sent it the first smf. It looked good at first...the blinking dots appeared indicating a transfer was taking place...but then at about
70% the VG display changed to F8. And there I am....I've tried everything I can think of but no joy.
Any thoughts or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!!

Cheers.......Cristofe Chabot
            Stonetree Productions
    http://www.myspace.com/cristofe

Brent Flash

Welcome to the group Cristofe!  :)

Don't know who has the answers to your question but hopefully someone will chime in and help you out.

Macciza

Don't know if you've seen this but it may help . .