VController based GA-FC alternative for Boss Katana MK II

Started by Willem Smith, August 16, 2020, 02:14:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Willem Smith

When I saw another guy walking into our practice studios carrying a Boss Katana Head I decided I wanted one myself.
I allready own a Boss Katana 100 Mk1, which I like very much, but it is too heavy to carry it to practice every week.
I have a GA-FC controller with the Katana but being an electronics hobbyist I decided I would like to build something like that myself. I realise it will not be much cheaper to build one myself and will take a lot of time but the fun off building it myself to my own specifications is what makes it interesting to me.

Before starting my project I read lots of articles about GA-FC alternatives and stumbled upon the V-Controller by Six-Eight.
I was very impressed with the way his design was setup and documented. The way the software and the electronics are designed (very modular and well thought out) made me decide this was a good starting point for my project.

I contacted Six-Eight (we both live in the Netherlands, coincidence :)) and he told me he had a PCB laying around which could be used and that there was a lot of demand for a controller that was comtatible with the Boss Katana MK II. So I got a PCB and started to design.

I want my controller to have the following specifications:
  • 6 (programmable) footswitches in a row next to each other (like the GA-FC)
  • 4 displays (16 * 2 characters) above the left 4 switches showing relevant information
  • 6 Neopixel Leds next to the footswitches showing some easy to recognize status colors
  • 1 master display (20 * 4 characters) above the right 2 switches.
  • USB-connection to the Boss Katana
  • 2 connections for expression pedals.

I plan to build my controller in 3 stages:
  • build and test the controller for basic functionality of the displays and switches
  • test the controller and adapt the software on the Katana Mk I