Hello from Scotland

Started by Bigcraigie_1-fgn, April 24, 2013, 02:00:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bigcraigie_1-fgn

Hi folks. Firstly, many thanks for accepting me into your community. Looks like a good place to be.

About myself:

I've been playing guitar for about 25 years now, played in various bands in my youth but now just a hobby when the kids are in bed. I've been around music technology for many years with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Music Technology and Electronics although again, just a hobby and not my day job.

My first taste of MIDI guitar, which is what brings me to this forum, was many years ago on an old Casio axe of some description which had the most awful latency. It was so bad, you could hit a note and by the time you made a cup of coffee and smoked a fag, the note was still not played!!! LOL

Since then I've been down the Roland route, owned a YRG and now using the Jam Origin app on both PC and iPad. Like many others, I've been on the hunt for the Holy Grail for the perfect solution. Jam Origin is getting close and I'm really interested in the Triple Play now, but sadly not yet available in the UK.

I'm a dedicated Cubase user with many VST soft synths which I would love to take full advantage of as my keyboard skills are not the best, so the perfect MIDI guitar is still a dream I am forever chasing.

My musical influences range for the 80's shredders such as Vai, Satriani, EVH, George Lynch etc , to many of the blues and jazz greats. Loving Steel Panther at the moment.