Guitar Pickup Tone Database & How does capacitance affect the tone?

Started by Elantric-fgn, September 01, 2009, 03:32:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elantric-fgn

http://www.aqdi.com/cgi-bin/database.cgi

Go to the Link above!

Instruction and FAQ

How do I use this guitar pickup tone tool...

* ... if I'm a nontechnical guitarist?

Find a pickup in the left hand list that you are familiar with. Highlight it by clicking on it. Find a pickup in the right hand list you would like to compare the first one to and click on it. Click the Get Pickup Info! button. Click the links beside the check boxes to hear how they compare.
    * ... if I understand audio matters and some electronics?

Scroll through the two lists of pickups to find two that you are interested in, and select one in each list. Check the boxes that correspond to the cable setup you typically use. Click the Get Pickup Info! button. Listen to each pickup under a variety of cable and loading conditions by clicking the links beside the check boxes. (The links work whether the boxes are checked or not.) The graph shows a frequency response curve for each of the boxes you checked. Select the "expanded graph high end" check box to examine the differences between pickups from 1KHz and up, which is where most of the action is. More detailed technical information appears below. Now pop open your favorite beverage and think about what you see.

Our pickup comparison database lets you compare pickups technically and audibly. We have measured the responses of many pickups for you, new models and old, and have compiled this information into a free database that you can use in pickup selection decisions.