Steve Howe of Yes - GR-700

Started by Rawbeartoe, January 20, 2019, 11:27:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rawbeartoe

I recently acquired a GR-700 that was owned by Steve Howe of the band Yes. Looking to see how I can share patches?

chrish

Hey, your 1st post, welcome. Did the unit come with Steve Howe's patches?

aliensporebomb

That's definitely worth figuring out. 

How would the patches be downloaded from this unit?
My music projects online at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/

GK Devices:  Roland VG-99, Boss GP-10, Boss SY-1000.

arkieboy

There was a time when I had a GR700/G707 I would have given any duplicate internal organ of your choice for those patches - Howe is one of my favourite guitarists, and I majored with the GR700 - but I don't have one any more, so my left kidney is safe! 

I also remember from an interview that Geoff Downes had Howe and Hackett use an Oscar for lots of sounds on GTR, so although the JX3P engine with velocity sensitivity is a capable synth, I'm not sure how good the patches might be.

Keep the thread updated though!!

And yes, I'm fairly certain you can dump the patches over MIDI to SMF.

Main rig: Barden Hexacaster and Brian Moore i2.13 controllers
Boss SY1000/Boss GKC-AD/Boss GM-800/Laney LFR112

Other relevant gear: Line 6 Helix LT, Roland GR-33, Axon AX100 MkII
Oberheim Matrix 6R, Supernova IIR, EMu E5000, Apple Mainstage, Apple Logic, MOTU M4

Rawbeartoe