Working on replicating Roland 24-pin cables

Started by Bratwurst, April 25, 2018, 07:02:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bratwurst

Hi, a friend asked me to try my hand at making new 24-pin cables, loaning some original pieces for me to examine and copy. I'm not a musician but I have electronics experience and like to tinker. I hope there is interest in the end product. I've modeled the heads in cad with a digital caliper and already have an idea of how to proceed. More pictures to come.

jassy

Interesting.
Im a long time GR300 dreamer but the lack of 24 pin cables and 13 pin to 24 pin converters (I would want to use it with my regular 13 pin equiped guitars) cooled my enthusiasm about purchasing one, so if someone is making these devices he would have my interest.
Keep us informed.

admin

FWIW-
Making the Roland 24-pin connector for the GR-300
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=11980.msg86836#msg86836

GuitarBuilder

"There's no-one left alive, it must be a draw"  Peter Gabriel 1973

Bratwurst

Printed slices to test alignment and then depth, had to adjust some dimensions for each iteration. But a good proof of concept I think.  8)

Quote from: jassy on April 26, 2018, 06:21:33 AM
Interesting.
Im a long time GR300 dreamer but the lack of 24 pin cables and 13 pin to 24 pin converters (I would want to use it with my regular 13 pin equiped guitars) cooled my enthusiasm about purchasing one, so if someone is making these devices he would have my interest.
Keep us informed.

I understand that the 13-pin connectors are much more common and see the cables plus DIN connectors for sale, are they available as panel mount fixtures? As I'm not familiar with the equipment, what gender would each end need to be?

admin

Quote from: Bratwurst on April 27, 2018, 08:03:17 AM

Printed slices to test alignment and then depth, had to adjust some dimensions for each iteration. But a good proof of concept I think.  8)