GK-3 pickup cover?

Started by experimenthouse, July 11, 2020, 08:05:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

experimenthouse

Hey everyone,

Long-term reader, first-time poster.

I've been using a GK-3 (guitar) external unit for a couple of years, but recently decided to switch to an internal kit, which I'm in the process of installing. The main reason for switching is that I play left-handed and the external unit isn't great for lefties (I'll make a post about this soon!).

One thing I was wondering about is the possibility of a pickup cover for the GK-3. I've got a Stratocaster with white pickups and would like the GK-3 to blend in similarly to the Roland Ready GC-1.

I was wondering if anyone had come across or designed a pickup cover for the GK-3. It doesn't seem like a difficult thing to do, and I've toyed with designing one myself. Unfortunately I don't have my own 3D printer to make prototypes, so before I go too far down that route I thought I'd ask.

A few people discussed this issue some years ago (I found topics from dayn and dead_lizard) but no one seems to have pursued it much further.

Thanks in advance!

mooncaine

I toyed with the idea, and got a hesitant start on it, but was too lazy to make measurements of my internal GK pickup because, well, COVID. I have access to free 3D printing, normally, so I put aside my 3D printing hobby till when/if we overcome COVID and reopen the makerspaces. For me, it can wait.

If you're interested in doing it yourself, I'd be happy to help. I could show you how I'd do it. I haven't done a pickup cover before but I have made a couple functional parts for my guitar, one of which is a mounting shim to go under the GK wart. I also have a custom clip for a Virtual Jeff, angled to suit my guitar. I recommend it. I hope it won't be too long before I can print another couple clips and GK shims.