Looking for a Guitar Synth

Started by PeterPan8, October 30, 2016, 02:06:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PeterPan8

Got the idea to write my questions here from Line6 forum.

I've been playing acoustic guitar (as a hobby) for the past 30 years, mostly classical. Then I got a cut-away acoustic jazz guitar which I've been playing for about 5 years. I play by myself, got no one around to play with (I live on an island!) Nowadays, I mostly play the cut-away steel strings jazz guitar.

Questions :

I'd like to "expand" my horizons by getting a guitar synthesizer. I've seen plenty of Roland GR-55 YouTube demos, and Fishman Triple Play. Just found out about James Tyler Variax.

I'm thinking about buying an electric guitar (another one? says my wife!)

My idea is to compose and play "new age" style pieces, mixed with soft classical jazz. And would love to play and mix with other instruments, piano, violins, voices, etc.  Probably with a looper.

I can read sheet music, but can't play any piano. I'm looking for "real" sounds, not "canned" ones, like brass, violin, piano, voices, etc.  If I play violin, I would like for the listener to think it's a real one (or close to). Same with piano, etc.

What should I get? A Fender G1 coupled with a Roland GR-55 synth? An electric guitar (which one?) with the Fishman Triple Play software?  Or something else.

I would also have to get an amplifier!  (Remember, I'm all acoustic!)

Thanks for any ideas and suggestions...

Brak(E)man

I'd go for a vg99 or a GP 10 with a GK 3 pickup on your guitar.
a laptop , Soft synths and a sampler and the USB audio + midi from VG or GP 10
And a software looper ,
You can perform live or record in a daw
Or both at the same time
swimming with a hole in my body

I play Country music too, I'm just not sure which country it's from...

"The only thing worse than a guitar is a guitarist!"
- Lydia Lunch

admin

stratrat