GR-55- Ty Tabor tone anyone?

Started by pirate, March 30, 2015, 08:22:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pirate

I'm surprised to not find that anyone has attempted a Ty Tabor tone. I was going back and listening to some old music and forgot how much I loved his sound. I'm still brand new to the GR-55 so don't yet feel qualified to give it a worthy attempt. Are there any experienced GR-55 users that love the old Ty Tabor/King's X stuff?

Elantric

pirate

I found that patch originally and actually sounds pretty good. Are you saying I can use the VG-99 patches?!  :o

Elantric

I found that patch originally and actually sounds pretty good. Are you saying I can use the VG-99 patches?!  :o

No

use patch cloning procedure to create a GR-55 version
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=4087.0

pirate

Interesting!  Definitely going to give this a try. Thanks a bunch for the link! 

aliensporebomb

The Ty VG-99 patch is pretty darned close.  Part of it is playing technique too.  I just posted an update to the thread on the 99 patch where I discuss my experience playing a real Fender Elite Strat.  That was interesting.  They didn't have an L5 but I did get to spent about 15 minutes with the guitar and shared my observations.  I think its very possible to get in the neighborhood with modeling. 

My understanding is Ty had a heck of a time getting that Elite Strat/L5 setup to be consistent in live situations.  That'w where the modeled patch gets you some predicatable consistency in obtaining that sound.

And yes, it's Fun as heck to play "It's Love" or "Dogman" with that patch.  Just way too much fun.
My music projects online at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/

GK Devices:  Roland VG-99, Boss GP-10, Boss SY-1000.

pirate