GR-55 - JIMMY K'S patches

Started by JKpicker, December 10, 2014, 07:28:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JKpicker

These are 50 or so patches I have developed.  I use them in my classic rock band.  I am not an expert on the GR-55, but I can say, I have spent many hours tweaking for the perfect emulation of the original recordings.  I have played through 1) a clean Line 6 amp  2) and sometimes a plain powered PA speaker, and 3) believe it or not, a small Roland Cube Street EX amp.  I play a Gretsch 6120 junior guitar.

I hope some of you will try them and comment.  I have been disappointed in all the patches I have downloaded, they sound nothing like what I expected.  Maybe the same will happen if you try mine.  I hope not.

Elantric

Jimmy,

Thanks for contributing your GR-55 patches !

JKpicker

Thank for noticing them.  I'd love to hear what an experienced user thinks of mine.

whippinpost91850

Jimmy, Thanks for contributing the patches,I look forward to trying them

JKpicker

I wonder how many of you are like me, wanting to carry less gear, and simplify it all.
Well, you may not believe this, but I have reduced my amp to the 16 lb., AC or battery operated Roland Cube EX.  The new model with 2 8 in. speakers, and 2 tweeters, and 50 watts.

I kid you not, at our last gig, in a very large hotel hall, with huge high ceilings, I had that tiny amp on 30% of volume, clean, a tad of reverb, and the sound guys said they had to take me out of the mains, because my stage volume was dictating the whole setup.  And it does not distort at all.

I am now down to carrying one Gretsch guitar with a GK-3, that little amp, the GR-55, and my fake ZZ Top beard. 

Elantric

QuoteWell, you may not believe this, but I have reduced my amp to the 16 lb., AC or battery operated Roland Cube Street EX.  The new model with 2 8 in. speakers, and 2 tweeters, and 50 watts.

I will have to try one at NAMM