Hello VGers. New Guy From Michigan

Started by belleswell, June 20, 2014, 02:51:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

belleswell

Hello fellow VGers, (sounds like an old Star Trek movie). I thought I'd introduce
myself and what better way than a youtube vid or some of my music. I started playing
guitar in 64' after seeing the Beatles on the Ed Sullivan show, and I've been learning
ever since. Using the math they teach in schools nowdays, that means I've been playing
for about......... um ....... (dumbing myself down), ..... uh 2 years?  lol

I've had most of the usual influences that many of us have had but must mention Mr.
Joe Satriani as being one of the largest in the last 30 years. His melodies and phrasing
are heartfelt and have had a large influence in my quest for the perfect note.

As a side note, I'm an electrician by trade and one of the best fisherman I know.
Fishing is not just a matter of life and death, It's much more important than that. lol

I bought a GR 20 about 5 years ago and thought that it was a wonderful product, easy
to use right out of the box. Fast forward to my recent feebay purchase of a GR 55. What
a difference.(and not the good kind) First I'll have to get a flash drive to upgrade to
version 1.50. I learned this by watching some vids here and discovered I'm missing a
bunch of presets. Which type and size of flash drive, I have not read enough into the
topic to know that answer yet. I certainly don't want to purchase a Roland brand one
from Japan on the bay for 80 dollars. There must be a cheaper alternative. Feel free to chime
in with an answer on this one.

Secondly, aside from the needed upgrade to the latest verison, is the issue of the GK3
pickup and the 3 selections it offers. (flawlessly on my GR 20). To try and get regular guitar,
a mix of the synth sound, or the synth only sound. What a nightmare. I've browsed a few theads here
concerning this and not had much luck yet..  Aside from the instructions for doing this in the