Native Kontrol Standard (NKS)

Started by scratch17, January 16, 2017, 11:33:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scratch17

I am a guitarist, not a keyboard player. I use the Fishman Triple Play as a MIDI controller for software instruments.

However, I purchased a Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S61 so I could have NKS control of my NI Komplete 10 Ultimate software. With NKS, browsing my library of virtual instruments is a snap.

The Komplete Kontrol software (of which NKS is a part) that comes with my keyboard, also maps Logic Pro X transport control to the hardware transport controls on the S61. It works flawlessly. It also works with other major DAWs.

And since all parameters are automatically mapped to the S61's hardware, tweaking any parameter is a breeze.

NKS is the most comprehensive and flexible control software I have used. It works perfectly, because the mappings are done by the software manufacturer with the NI keyboard or Maschine as targets.

There is another thing that NKS can do that adds to its functionality. It can load VST instruments, acting as a wrapper for them within Logic. So if you have a VSTi that is not available as an AU instrument, you can use NKS to load it into Logic.

I must point out at this point that full NKS support must be implemented by the software manufacturer.

Of course there is a manual mapping feature available for instruments which do not have NKS support. Out of the box, any Native Instruments virtual instrument is fully NKS implemented. And NI provides Kompete Select 11 with any hardware purchase.

There are many other software manufacturers that have added MKS support. This list has more than doubled since NKS first release.

Here's a list of NKS partners:

https://www.native-instruments.com/en/products/komplete/keyboards/komplete-kontrol-s-series/nks/nks-partners/

I was happy to see that my Arturia V Collection was implemented.