GR-55 - Need an emerson/wakeman/magic man minimoog patch

Started by mdortona, June 06, 2014, 10:32:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mdortona

Anyone have anything close? Band is going to be doing Magic Man, and possibly From The Beginning. Thanks!

Matt

P.S. Sorry for the double post. I mistakenly posted in the child boards first. :o

DreamTheory

I am just learning to do this stuff. Preliminary answer: a square wave form with the cutoff filter sweepable on foot pedal. Slightly slow attack, portamento. CTL for LFO to cut on tremolo at end of that solo. Duplicate to PCM tone 2 a detune the second one (fine setting -5). I will repost something more specific when I get a chance, but since this is an "emergency," that should get you something for now.
electric: Epiphone Dot semihollow body, acoustic: mahogany jumbo, recording: Cubase Artist 11 or Tascam DP008

papabuss

FENDER STRATOCASTER (1974); BRIAN MAY RED SPECIAL; VG 99; GR 55; Yamaha DX 7

Music was my first love and it will be my last (JOHN MILES)

mdortona

Thank you guys for the detailed info and the patch! Should do the trick for me.  ;D

Matt

DreamTheory

Well I took a crack at the Magic Man patch creation, And came up with this, which is pretty much what I described above. The pedal will sweep the filter and drop you down an octave, and the CTL will pop on some crazy vibrato for the end of the solo.

This was tricky because there is a lot going on in that syth solo. What makes GR 55 interesting is that you have more than one way of doing things, but there are limited numbers of controls, so you have to be strategic how you want to build the patch.

My patch won't be as good as Papabuss' because I am pretty new at analog synthesis. Most useful thing I have found is detuning the second PCM voice a little on the FINE detune parameter. Good luck with your gig, and thanks for the stimulating challenge.