GR-20 --Couple questions, where to start?

Started by OBB, August 19, 2014, 01:47:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OBB

Hi Guys,
   I'm new to the whole Midi guitar thing, although I have played guitar, bass & keyboards for over 30 years now. Not long ago I picked up an Ibanez RG420-GKBK & Roland GR-20. Both of them are brand new and were never used other than the finger smudges I've put on it and off the bat I have a few questions. Yes I already searched and found some of the answers that I was looking for helpful but I still could use some guidance on it.

Ok so here is where I'm at...
Plugged the whole shabang in and all seemed ok at first and then noticed no data signal from the G & High E string and also now is seriously humming/squealing (?) loud. So off to the forums, I went searching & the biggest thing I can see is cleaning pins, while I don't have the oxit stuff everyone says to use I do have regular old contact cleaner so I used that and then while holding the lock pins open plugged them in & out 10, 20, 30 times, turned it all back on and still extremely loud hum & still Dead on the D string & high E string.

I can hunt and peck through a schematic if needed but thought I would just ask someone... I hope someone here can send me in the right direction, before I wind up accidentally wrecking something inadvertently...

Elantric

OBB

Quote from: Elantric on August 19, 2014, 01:52:53 PM
Read
How to prepare  and maintain your 13 pin GK cable
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=3132.msg20110#msg20110

Hi Elantric,
    Yep, that was the first thing I read here and gave it a whirl but no joy...

I suppose maybe I should be asking is what is going to be the least pain (and/or cost) to help nail down the actual culprit is?