TASCAM 688 portastudio play back too fast

Started by G, May 18, 2017, 01:36:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

G

I posted this over on homerecording.com and got some good advice and direction on replacing the capstan servo assembly or recapping the servo board.

However, I stumbled on this thread here: https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=16460.0

-- and saw that one of my favourite posters on here Elantric has the 688 also, and there was some good advice on the 238 which I've seen has the similar capstan motor issue. 

Since I'm more of a VG-99 guy than an analog recording guy, I figured you guys could give me some advice on what I should do next, bearing in mind that I am a complete amateur with no soldering experience. 

Here is the post I made over there and subsequent updates I made as I learned more:

Hi all,

I'm having a problem with tape speed being too fast from my Tascam 688 portastudio.

In this video, the first part shows the music how it's supposed to sound (From my digital workstation), and the second part shows how it sounds from the tape. It's about 2x faster.

You can see me fiddling around with the pitch control to show the difference, and I kept the tape door open so you can see how the heads are working.  When I recorded the track, I did not manipulate the pitch control or speed in any way.

I tried other recorded tapes as well, and all had the same speed problem (about 2x fast).  They are all Maxell XLII tapes.

As a background to what lead up to this:  When I first recorded this track (last summer), all was fine with the speed.  Now, after a long winter of disuse, I decided I wanted to start using the portastudio again and noticed this speed issue.

As a background on the machine itself, I purchased it last summer from a very good seller who took care of it immaculately, it was barely used and in like new condition, still had the box and all.  It's worked perfectly up till now.