VG-99 - imac frequently drops connection to vg

Started by stringtheory, March 03, 2011, 09:14:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stringtheory

hello all and greetings - i am new to the vg-99, had a vg-88 for many many years, and i am pretty conversant with computers & gear.

i recently purchased a used vg-99 in excellent condition, it sounds great and i am loving it. i've installed the latest drivers on my imac and the latest versions of the editor and librarian software.

the problem is that i regularly and frequently lose the usb connection to the vg-99. i can load/edit two or three patches at most, and then i get the message about connection problems and i have to power cycle the vg and restart the programs in order to continue working.

i've done some searching here for similar problems, and as a result, i just reinstalled the driver, which helped a bit - i had only been able to load one patch before the connection failed, now i can do 2 or 3. and, i have the usb cable plugged directly into the imac.

i don't see that this is a common problem...anyone have any ideas?

my system is an imac dual 2.4G, 4G ram, system 10.5.8.

thanks!

Brent Flash

Welcome to the group stringtheory!  :)

I had an iMac that had a bad USB bus and would do some of the same things you are describing. It would even drop the keyboard connection as it got worse. I would try it out on another computer and cable to see if it still exhibits the same issue.

Elantric

Be sure you plug the VG-99 directly to a USB port on the iMac, and not a USB Hub, or USB port on the back of the keyboard.

stringtheory

thank you for the suggestions - i'd already switched to a new usb cable and plugged it directly into the imac. will try with my macbook and see if the problem is the imac - or at least, something about my imac setup.

a little more info - the problem seems to be more with the librarian than the editor, and really only happens when the librarian and the editor are both running.

s0c9