GK3 installation on Ibanez S540

Started by renesimons, February 26, 2013, 12:50:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

renesimons

Hello everyone. Just bought a GR55 and GK3 PU. I would like to mount it on an Ibanez S540, but due to the thinness of the body around the edge, I will need to make some sort of mod. Any ideas? I am a musician, not a handy man!! ;D. Also there isn't a real music store closer than about 250 miles. Thanx for any help.

myksara

Can you please elaborate more on the exact problem?
Is the problem with mounting the divided pick up piece
between the bridge and bridge pickup due to lack of space?
Guitars: Ibanez Prestige S5470, Ibanez Jem 7v, Ibanez JS2410, PRS SE Custom24, Cort  Ltd G16, Ibanez RG370Ahmz,
MultiFX: Roland GR55, Zoom 1on, BOSS GT00
Loopers: Digitech trio+, Line 6 JM4
MIDI:, MAudio Axiom24 keyboard, Alesis IO Dock with iPad air 2

renesimons

Well the body is very thin around the edges and thick in the center. I actually need to cut the back end of the bridge humbucking mounting ring off to make room for the actual pickup to fit between it and the leading edge of the trem...not much real estate there. The problem is creating some sort of shim I suppose to mount the rest of the GK3 unit to the back of the guitar in a manner that provides stability. I appreciate your reply and any help is appreciated. I have a freakin degree in music, but even something as simple as this mounting conundrum has me baffled!!! As I said, a handy man I am not!!

Elantric

Suggest browse the "Post Your GK Guitar" area for inspiration and see if there are GK-3 mounting ideas that work for your needs.
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=359.0

and a Google search on " GK-3 on Ibanez S540" shows this:
http://d.hatena.ne.jp/syunkit/20120411

lespauled

I have an S-Series with the ZR trem.  The ZR is too close to the pickup for me to put the gk3 there.

Elantric

QuoteThe ZR is too close to the pickup for me to put the gk3 there.