Newbie Questions on the GI-10 / GI-20

Started by Skyze, December 26, 2011, 05:47:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skyze

Hello, I am new to the synth world, been trying to research it but it is confusing to a newbie like me. I ended up picking up a GR-1 for cheap just to test out if Synth worked for me, and i've had some good results so far. Tracking was very smooth on it, could play at higher speeds too and everything was fine. I dislike the saxophone sounds on it though, which is why I want a synth in the first place, so looking at other options now.

My main dilemnia though, is fitting it's size into my setup. I could just get the GR-55, but honestly I dont want to carry around a pedalboard that is 3 feet long, or have another huge piece of metal to put ontop of an amp. I am willing to sacrifice a bit of tracking (as long as it is still managable) and even tonally if I can get something that'll fit in my setup. Hell, if the GR-1 was smaller, I'd be fine with that, but it suffers the same situation as the GR-55 does for me. GR-20 is smallest I saw so far, but looking at other options too.

I do use a rack as my head, but its only 4U and its full at the moment, so the Axon 100 is a possibility but I really dont want to get a bigger rack. But what got me thinking is if I can get a unit that is small enough to fit in the back of my rack, and run it to my MIDI controller up front. Thats ideal.

The GI-10 and GI-20 fit the bill in terms of size, but I don't know if they are considered a "complete" midi unit or if I need more stuff with it, like a pitch-to-midi converter or soundbank unit. I have the guitars with GK-3's (soon to be graphtech ghost system installed) - so I want to know what else I need to complete this setup before the amp/speaker.

Will a GI-10 or GI-20 be all I need? Or do I need anything else?

(to get an idea of my planned rig:)
- Guitar (GK-3 equipped) > GI-20 > Axe-FX > Poweramp > Cabinet - Roland FC-300 controlling it as pedal