VGuitar Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Blue Chip AX100 - Firmware 2.09 to 7.28 OK ?  (Read 208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Frandid

Blue Chip AX100 - Firmware 2.09 to 7.28 OK ?
« on: September 12, 2016, 10:01:14 AM »

Hi there.
I have just ordered on Ebay the 4.28 rom IC for my Blue Chip AX100 (3rd model) Axon. This should transform the machine into a MK2 version from what I read. When I will have the rom IC replaced I suppose the 2.09 version will be changed for another one. Am I correct to think the firmware is installed inside the rom IC ? So when the new firmware will be installed it should display v.7.28 (instead of 2.09) on start up, is that it ?
2 questions :
-Will the mono input still work ?? As it has been replaced by a headphone output on the MK2 model...
-I have the original 1998 Yamaha soundcard, will it still work normally (as I read the MK2 models are fitted with a new card which has more samples) and my 128 "home made sounds" still be available and working ? (I have made a dump).
I already have installed the AX100 MK2 3.1.10 editor on my oldest PC fitted with XP SP2 and a midi card.
Regards.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2016, 10:10:37 AM by Elantric »
Logged

Frandid

Re: Blue Chip AX100 - Firmware 2.09 to 7.28 OK ?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2016, 04:11:03 PM »

Hi

I am replying to myself since no one did !
I have started the process. I first replaced eprom 2.09 by MK2 eprom 4.28 which is the last one. It is OK. Everything seems to work. But my own sounds cannot be loaded in this new version. Not a serious issue since the sounds and presets can now be edited easily and quickly on my PC as my Blue Chip AX-100 SB now communicates with my PC.
Only one major issue : I wanted to update the firmware from 4.28 to v. 7.28, so I followed the manual's instructions :
"Press the "PRESET" + "UTILITY" + "EDIT" buttons while switching on the AX 100 MKII. The following appears in the display: "TERRATEC AXON FIRMWARE UPDATE"..."
But unfortunately when I press these 3 buttons and power on the unit this update display NEVER appears...
Is anybody here knowing why ???

Regards.

PS: I also replaced the sound card by one which is more compatible with MK2 version (better sounds and faster response but I don't think this has anything to do with the issue
« Last Edit: September 22, 2016, 04:15:36 PM by Frandid »
Logged

Elantric

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Total likes: 763
  • Rating: 394
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24561
    • Elantric's Tips and Blog
Re: Blue Chip AX100 - Firmware 2.09 to 7.28 OK ?
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2016, 04:17:03 PM »

Elantric

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Total likes: 763
  • Rating: 394
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24561
    • Elantric's Tips and Blog
Re: Blue Chip AX100 - Firmware 2.09 to 7.28 OK ?
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2016, 05:14:15 PM »

Also Send personal message to "Arkieboy" - he is our resident "Axon Guru"

http://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?action=profile;u=4775

Frandid

Re: Blue Chip AX100 - Firmware 2.09 to 7.28 OK ?
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2016, 05:23:21 PM »

This is done too, thanks again !
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up