GK Kit and Boss GP 10 minimum install

Started by stublito, May 18, 2016, 03:16:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stublito

I have a Hohner Steinberger and want to get a Boss GP 10. It will be my airline carry on gig rig. Some questions (I am a tech so can deal with the wiring hacks):

As I plan to just call up patches on the GP 10 and play them (as opposed to blending/switching stuff in real time), do I really need the switches? I'll install the synth volume tho. I'm guessing all the switch values can be pre programmed in to the patch.

And a dumb question. With all the guitar models in the GP 10, why even bother with the guitar pickups? That of course requires an opinion of the GP 10 modelling, perhaps not a topic for this thread.

This started as a quest to replace my carbon fiber acoustic with the Roland sims. Can the modelling handle the standardized "Pinball Wizard" strumming test?

thanks in advance

Stublito

Elantric

stublito

Thanks. I just went ahead and bought the GP 10 with the GK3 and will try it out, if it meets my needs I'll start drilling holes in my guitar.

gumtown

Quote from: stublito on May 18, 2016, 07:54:03 PM
I'll start drilling holes in my guitar.
It is so painful to hear those words   :o
Free "GR-55 FloorBoard" editor software from https://sourceforge.net/projects/grfloorboard/

stublito

Well I bench wired the GK kit and temp installed the hex pup with 2 sided tape.

I could not get the MIDI to track the bottom two strings. I know MIDI tracking is a b#tch, but even the tuner had problems. Also the detune patches warble like crazy.

I reversed the hex pup and changed that setting in the GP 10. The string gain controls show adequate signal even though the string spacing on the Hohner/Berger is narrow (10 mm). I did the scale and distance to bridge piece adjustments.

I also have a regular GK3, I put it on my 335, no problems.

Any thoughts? Perhaps the geometry/mass (it's very light) of the Hohner/Berger is just not suitable for this.