FTP as a midi controller in Cubase

Started by w1awb, February 07, 2014, 05:37:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

w1awb

I am a composer for documentaries and theater productions, an excellent guitarist and an absolutely suck bad keyboard player so the FTP looked like a prayer answered. I'm running all sorts of VSTis...everything from VSL and Spitfire samples to Omnisphere and Iris.

I just got FTP the other day and I've been reading everything I can find but most of it seems geared to live performance instead of working in a DAW. I hope you guys can help me with some setup questions.

FTP tracks beautifully but depending on the VSTi, the string bending feature can be problematic. No luck with VSL and Kontakt instruments sometimes work and sometimes not. (And yes...I have seen and used the info on setting up the pitchbend modulation slot in Kontakt.)

What is a good default setting for running in a DAW? Should I have one patch for string bending? (expressive strings etc) and a non string bending (trigger)? The FAQ by the FTP designer basically says never to use trigger and always use the MONO setting. This concept is not working great for me.

Also when I try to use the Two Channel method recommended here, all the controller settings are grayed out and it says "Receiver not found" ...what am I doing wrong?

How do you use the MONO setting in a DAW? It seems to work great in the FTP software with six instances of whatever in Kontakt but when I try it in CUBASE I get all six strings still working on ONE instance, just like with POLY. I'm stumped...

Sorry for the newbie questions...I've read stuff until I'm cross eyed and still can't figure it out. Any help would be much appreciated.

Andy B

shawnb

Cubase users here have reported good results.  I'm a SONAR user, not a Cubase user, but hopefully I can get you pointed in the right direction & give you some things to look into. 

Quote from: w1awb on February 07, 2014, 05:37:56 AM