RC300 - POD HD500, GR-55 and RC-300 ...Advice Please

Started by gtrwiz, January 02, 2014, 09:21:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gtrwiz

Hello Forum Folks - new member here - looking for some advice before taking the plunge on a new Roland GR-55.  Basically, I want to understand how I might utilize my existing rig with the inclusion of a GR-55. I have no specific experience with the Roland synths, but I have heard them and was very impressed with the sounds and variety of instruments that are modeled.

I use a Line 6 POD HD500 for all of my guitar sounds. I've had the unit for years now, and have tweaked my patches to my personal nirvana. Very happy with it and I have no intention of using the GR-55's guitar or amp modeling -- I only want to add its synth capabilities to my overall rig.

Currently, I run my guitar through a TC Helicon VoiceLive GTX (to pick up the key of my guitar chords for voice correction and harmonies on my vocal mic), then into the POD HD500, and stereo out into a Boss RC-300 for looping. From the Boss RC-300, I either run stereo out to a set of Roland CM-30 mixing monitors for home studio use, or occasionally out to a Roland KC-100 keyboard amp or just use the RC-300 headphone jack for silent practice.

So, how could/should I alter my rig such that I can incorporate a GR-55? Preferably I would like to have the flexibility of hearing only the POD tones at times, only the GR-55 Synth tones at times, and sometimes both together (these options to be controlled via foot pedals, if possible). Also - I would prefer that both the POD and the GR-55 ultimately run through the Boss RC-300 so I can loop the tones of either at any time.

Would I plug my guitar into the GK-3 pickup at all? Or just straight into the TC Helicon / POD HD500 as I do today? Would I then just plug the GK-3 13-pin into the GR-55 and set the GK-3 pickup to "GK" mode? Use the volume pedals of the HD500 and GR-55 to determine which is audible?