Hi All. A newbie with a quandry!

Started by ubique, February 28, 2014, 03:03:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ubique

Hello
I joined the forum as I was about to purchase the GR55 and needed to do some prior research. Glad I did because now I need some advice on which direction to go. I've spent hours watching demos of the G55 and reading posts on this excellent forum and to be honest I'm stuck! Basically I'm a 67 year old amateur guitarist, I play and record at home purely for my own pleasure, and I know a  bit about DAW's and midi, having used Sonar Cubase and more recently Mixcraft. I have a couple of guitars, an Akai EWI, a Roland JV1080 and a Roland Sonic Cell.
I would really like to use my guitar as a controller, hence the interest in the GR55, but 550 pounds is a lot to shell out especially, as I already have the two sound modules. What would be the best polyphonic pickup to hook up my guitar to the JV1080 or Sonic Cell and what else would be required?. I realize this would not give me anywhere near the capabilities of the GR55 but may well suit my needs. What would you do in my position? Lash out on the GR55 or buy a pickup and make do with what I already have.
Thanks an best regards.
Neil

Elantric

Find a used 1997 Roland GR30, it's still the fastest Roland GR ever made and they sell low price in the used channel.

imerkat

As an owner and a fan of the GR-55 the plays/records at home now I would go Fishman triple Play. the only advantage to the GR-55 is using it live and soon that won't be the case. I don't have the FTP but it would be nice to have a more direct access to softsynths and my sound modules.  since you have the sound modules you may want a used VG-99

Toby Krebs

Quote from: imerkat on February 28, 2014, 08:14:12 AM