GK-3- must the GK-3 PuP be exactly 1mm from strings?

Started by sheguitarplayer, October 29, 2009, 06:52:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sheguitarplayer

Hi
First of all, Im new to the VG99 and the GK3. I have trawled the forum for advice on this and Im a bit baffled.
I bought my GK3s (2 of them) second hand. They were all missing a few of the fittings, all of which Ive been able to buy from Roland UK with the exception of the 'adjustment template' which is apparently now obsolete (according to Roland).
Ive tried to fit the pickups to a Les Paul and a PRs custom, having a fingerboard radius of 250 and 254 respectively.
Trouble is, even when I adjust the pickups to their 'flattest' setting there is still quite a curve accross the yoke. Enough so that if I get the pickup to the recommended distance from the 1st and 6th strings, it actually touches the 3rd and 4th strings. If I set them the recommended distance from the middle strings, then the 1st and 6th strings are a long way off.
The adjustment screw is obviously working on the pickups as I can clearly see the pole pieces moving.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Brent Flash

I would get it as close as I can then compensate the strings that are too far with the string sensitivity settings. Let us know how that works.

sheguitarplayer

Thanks for the quick reply.
Ive done that and it seems to work OK, but there are a number of posts where it says that proper pickup adjustment is critical. I was wondering if there was something I had missed in the fitting process.
I also use them with a GR20. Tracking nightmares there, although thats probably a different story.....

Brent Flash

Quote from: sheguitarplayer on October 29, 2009, 07:47:58 AM
Thanks for the quick reply.
Ive done that and it seems to work OK, but there are a number of posts where it says that proper pickup adjustment is critical. I was wondering if there was something I had missed in the fitting process.