FTP - Getting "CHIRPING" sound when strumming hard

Started by kidpossible, December 07, 2015, 10:10:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kidpossible

I am brand new to my FTP and know I still have tweaking to do to its settings.
One irritation is a chirping sound I get when I strum a little harder.
With the right synth voice I can cover it up, but on other voices it is very audible.
Are there some settings that improve playing the FTP with a full on strum.

Trevor

Quote from: kidpossible on December 07, 2015, 10:10:42 PM
With the right synth voice I can cover it up, but on other voices it is very audible.
I think I found the solution, I was having the same problem, but only on some days.

It's a technique thing, when strumming, it's natural to lay the pick in the direction of the next strummed string, what we don't notice playing acoustically is that a millisecond before the end of your pick strikes the next string, the middle of your pick touches that string, the FTP is so good it tries to make a note, but it comes out a "beep" because it's silenced so quickly and replaced by a good note.You have to keep your pick perpendicular to the soundboard.
You only really need to change tech a bit while strumming, but it would help to change overall, as it will be more accurate.Look at how Marty Friedman plays, I always thought it was strange, but I bet it helps with accuracy, though his twist might cause a "beep".

Elantric

As Shawnb points out, the big deal is use picks with smooth edges, avoid picks with serrated edges.

Read

Is your Pick (Plectrum)  giving you "Ghost Notes"

https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=4324.0

ShawB wrote>
Major discovery today, thought I'd share...