Need recommendation for new Apple laptop to run Ableton & FTP for live gigs

Started by BobbyD, November 12, 2016, 12:46:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BobbyD

Hello friends,

I am NOT an Apple techie so when I have questions about various topics, I go to the experts...Forum members.  I hope someone can give me advice who uses their Laptop live with Ableton and Fishman Triple play.

I have a maxed out late 2015 or early 2016  Imac at home.  It's a work horse with 32 GB ram, 1 TB SSD drive and 4.0 GHZ processors. So it handles multiple instances of heavy VSTs like Omnisphere 2 , Serum, etc.  It is dedicated for music production and is fast. I have an old 2009 27in Imac still running. It's great for watching instructional videos on 2009 computer and following along on new Imac.  I also have a 27 in 4k display so I can have session view and arrangement view both opened. So all set at home.

I do NOT have a laptop and need one for using Ableton for live solo gigs.  My 2009 laptop died and was waiting for new 2016 Macbookpro to be released which is now available.  I have a Fishman Triple Play and need the laptop so I can play MIDI guitar live to control soft synths. I will have Push 2, and a few other controllers hooked up, I will be using backing tracks from laptop and may also use the software looper so I wanted to most powerful Laptop possible because I keep them for 5 to 7 years. 

The new Macbookpro is limited to 16 GB ram, and fastest CPU is 2.9 GHZ.

Couple of questions:

I read about new USB 3 inputs being used on new model.  How does this impact all my current controllers which I belive are not USB 3 like Push 2 and Akai controllers?  Same goes for FTP dongle?