Octatrack as a looper

Started by GovernorSilver, June 11, 2013, 09:21:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GovernorSilver

Elantric asked me to post a review of the Octatrack as a looper.  I can't honestly do one yet, because I'm still learning how to use this machine.  What I can report so far is the learning curve is STEEP.  It makes the Gibson Echoplex Digital Pro look like a walk in the park.  The manual is helpful at times, but also maddening in the omission of some key steps.

The Octatrack has a concept of "machines".  It has 8 audio tracks, and each track can be assigned one machine.  The two that I think live loopers will work with the most are Pickup Machines and Flex Machines.  Use the Pickup Machines to record loops, and the Flex Machines to do stuff to the audio that the Pickup Machines can't do, like slicing.  Once you slice a bit of audio into smaller audio slices, you can have the sequencer play back the slices in arbitrary order and do all kinds of crazy and wonderful things to them.

My progress so far:

1. Learned how to loop using Pickup Machines

2. Learned how to pipe audio from Pickup Machine to Flex Machine - this was much, much harder to learn than I thought because of vital information omitted from the manual, or buried too deeply in a seemingly unrelated chapter, or maybe I just have a low IQ.

Next step: Learn how to slice audio in a Flex Machine.

aliensporebomb

Any chance we can get some demo videos or photos of the whole process?
My music projects online at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/

GK Devices:  Roland VG-99, Boss GP-10, Boss SY-1000.

GovernorSilver

Quote from: aliensporebomb on June 12, 2013, 05:24:08 AM
Any chance we can get some demo videos or photos of the whole process?