GR-55 - Why I returned my GR55 and Went Retro

Started by Davis, December 04, 2012, 11:25:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

admin

Quote from: jamesigreat on January 05, 2019, 11:06:40 PM
I've owned a fishman and own both gr-55 & boss gp-10. For me the clarity of the fishman is better but always fighting with latency issues and the clunkyness of dragging your laptop everywhere for gigging and needing to manage all the vsts that come with hardware. I'm still new to midi/synth guitar and this site is the only place to find any info on any synth guitar anywhere. the boss gp-10 for me has better quality guitar modding but sucks balls on the limited synth options, so i got a gr-55 but guitar side sucks compared to gp-10 and when i run thru my boss katana even more issues. they like the blackstar better. so I thought i'd be smart and find a 13 pin a/b footswitch( best of both worlds, right). now us-20 is just another pedal to tap-dance on to an overly complicated system. I look back at my original reason i wanted to branch out and get into synth guitar....to be more than just the guitar player and to fill in and write parts for music i couldn't do otherwise....some days i miss the good old days of an amp with gain/master vol and 3 eq knobs. too late down the rabbit hole now. :-[

Some combinations are not ideal or suitable

for example - myself , I use my Katana for regular electric guitars only  - its not ideal  for amplifying Synths like the GR-55

review this important thread

Amplification recommendations for DSP Guitar Modeling systems
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=230.0

joshuathomas