Hello from Boston

Started by ChrisF, December 20, 2014, 07:33:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ChrisF

Hello Everyone,

My name is Chris. I started playing classical guitar as a kid in NJ back in the 70s, and eventually wound up at USC studying studio techniques with Duke Miller, Mitch Holder, and Lee Ritenour. After that I was in road bands for a number of years playing rock and top 40 with home-made pedal boards (featuring the original stereo Boss Chorus) and a Yamaha G100-112 that I saw Mitch play at Donte's one night. For a guitar I used a Gibson ES-347, which was modeled after some mods that Mitch and some other LA studio guys had done to their 335s. Those guys were my heroes!

In the 80s, back in NJ, I started using a custom Strat made by my friend Tim at the old Grand Guitars in Englewood, with a Roland GP-8 and a Yamaha SPX-90 for effects.

In the 90s, got married, moved to Boston, had kids, and more or less got out of music. So all of that gear was just collecting dust in the basement!

But in the 2000's the kids started acting and singing in musicals, and through them I got back to playing... in musical theatre! This stuff called on everything I had learned at USC... reading, multiple instruments and effects. It was a blast! But I was going crazy carting all of those instruments (banjo, mandolin, multiple acoustic guitars, electric guitar, effects, etc. etc.) I think the show "Spring Awakening" finally broke my back. This show has stuff like distorted electric tuned to DADGAD capoed on 3, acoustic tuned to this bizarre low C tuning, 3 or 4 other guitars, all switched very quickly, etc. I complained about it to my old friend Tim (who by now had his own studio) in NJ and he said "Dude, you need a VG-99!". He knew that another old friend, Bruce, actually had one with all of the fixin's (stand, bag, FC-300, Strat w/hex pickup) and he was willing to sell!