VG-99 -> MM6

Started by Prakith, January 10, 2010, 09:48:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Prakith

Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to Midi, so be gentle. :D

I have just recently purchased the VG-99 (which is AWESOME) and I have a Yamaha MM6 keyboard. I connected the VG-99's midi out to the MM6's midi-in and I am able to play the piano of the MM6 using my guitar. That, my friends, seriously rocks.

However, when I change the patch on the MM6 (using the MM6's dial), the keys on the keyboard plays the new patch but the VG-99 still plays the piano. Here is the idea of it:

MM6 Patch = Piano
VG-99 plucking plays the MM6 Piano sound

MM6 Patch = Harpsichord

MM6 Patch = Violins

So no matter what I set the MM6 to, the patch that is played via the VG-99's midi connection is the piano.

Does anyone know how I tell the MM6 to play the patch I've selected when Midi notes come in?

My guess is that the VG-99 is sending "Play patch 1" messages regardless of what the MM6 has set, but I don't know for sure. And, if that is so, how can I tell the VG-99 to tell the MM6 to play that harpsichord?

Thanks for everyone's time!

Brent Flash

Welcome to the group Prakith!  :)

The answer to your question is probably that you are accessing the combination or multi part of the keyboard and not the single patch that the keyboard is playing. You will need to investigate how the MM6 is set up to receive MIDI. Pay attention to MIDI channels and also Program Change coming from the VG-99. I'll check to see if I have an MM6 manuel to look at if you can't find the solution so let me know how it goes. You may also want to check out a few threads that discuss external MIDI hear. One is here:https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php/topic,915.0.html
Here is another: https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php/topic,1107.0.html

Brent Flash