vController v3 build journal

Started by vmarks, September 12, 2017, 02:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vmarks

Hi!

I hope this makes for an interesting post and thread: I'm going to document my building a vController v3 from sixeight's plans as posted on github.
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=15154.msg108132#msg108132

https://github.com/sixeight7/VController_v3
https://github.com/sixeight7/VController_v3/blob/master/VController%20guide%20-%20production%20model.pdf

I'm not an engineer, although I first soldered when I was ten. I am not a software developer, either, although I used to use Linux primarily almost 20 years ago. I'm not afraid of following instructions, having been told RTFM when the manual was incomplete all that time ago.

I recently started playing guitar with some friends on weekends, and my Line6 pod2.0 and Variax 500 both are showing signs of intermittent failure. I don't want to carry a pedal board around, or a large amp, or anything else nuts. I like to plug into the PA and have something manageable.

I saw the videos sixeight had posted, and was very interested in them. When he showed Zoom G3 and MS-70CDR compatibility, this made it easy. I picked up a G3 on craigslist for $70 USD and patched it to a MIDI foot controller from 1992 (Peavey PFC10) using a Raspberry Pi and an ancient M-Audio Midisport 2x2 USB adapter. This cinched it for me - being able to foot switch patches is huge. The promise of having the names of patches displayed and being able to switch out all six effects individually makes it a winner.