Which K100 settings to get a Les Paul copy to sound like a Stratocaster ?

Started by DugT, August 02, 2017, 08:36:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DugT

I'm new to electric guitars and amps and I love my Ibanez AR720 Les Paul copy but I'm curious how close I could get it to sound like a Stratocaster and how I could do that using the guitars adjustments and the Katana 100 adjustments? The guitar has Humbuckers with two single coil option switches.

By the way, one of the reasons I got this guitar was for the Humbuckers with the two single coil switches because I thought it would be nice to have a lot of tone flexibility and I thought this would provide much more tone flexibility than a Stratocaster. However, I'm new at this....

Elantric

Quote from: DugT on August 02, 2017, 08:36:53 PM
I'm new to electric guitars and amps and I love my Ibanez AR720 Les Paul copy but I'm curious how close I could get it to sound like a Stratocaster and how I could do that using the guitars adjustments and the Katana 100 adjustments? The guitar has Humbuckers with two single coil option switches.

By the way, one of the reasons I got this guitar was for the Humbuckers with the two single coil switches because I thought it would be nice to have a lot of tone flexibility and I thought this would provide much more tone flexibility than a Stratocaster. However, I'm new at this....

No middle PU on a Les Paul  - so you wont get the popular Eric Clapton Strat Middle+ Bridge PU "quack" tones -
but you have coil taps on your humbuckers  - if you can add a phase switch to your Bridge PU, this also allows you to choose which is the active coil in the bridge dual coil humbucking PU - when the Bridge PU coil near the bridge is active you get a brighter tone, and when you select the Bridge PU coil near the neck, you get closer to the Clapton Strat quack tone.