VG-99 - Going for Ice 'Em

Started by dpcoffin, August 16, 2008, 09:58:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dpcoffin

This is my first attempt to see how well I could duplicate an old fav VG-8 patch of mine (Ice 'Em) on the 99; overall, I'm very pleased! The main issue was could I simulate the 8's wonderful per-string pitch blending pedal function on the 99 using A/B mix set to an FC-300 expression pedal, with two identical COSM guitars, one set up with pitch shifts and one without. Seems to be working so far!

The other issues were to do with the new vari guitar and the 99's amp models. The vari worked well. I chose the 99's Soldano sim just because that's the name of the sim I'd used on the 8. I didn't go through all the other options, or fiddle much with the speakers; I just wanted to see if I could get close using models with the same name. I didn't want a clean or full-range sound. I wanted a very slight trebly distortion and a timbre that had a character that would emphasize the out of phase vari PUs. I found it pretty quickly.... BUT when I ran the export by Bill Ruppert (thanks for the help, Bill!), it was way too distorted on his system. Imported back into mine no problem. So, I have no idea yet what the issues are, or where our systems are different. Comments welcome!

The intent is to start with a guitar/amp sound that is trebley in the low strings and bassy in the high strings, plus thinned out and cold overall, then add a pedal-blendable shift up a 5th on the low 4 strings and down a 5th on the 2 high strings, then see how this mixed with mag PU sounds from other processors in my system using an external mixer, the way I did with the VG8.

I'm using a GK-3 set to 50 on all strings except 65 on the high E, btw. Monitoring through a mixer with headphones...