VG99 Juno G 6 strings / channels / Sounds - set up

Started by jackeb77, September 12, 2014, 09:06:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jackeb77

Hi, i am new to this forum and have just purchased the VG99, FC300, GK-3 pick up and stand second hand in great condition for £500.

I have a roland juno G and srx-7 board.

Im totally new to the world of midi guitar and indeed midi full stop.

I have managed to rig up the VG and juno and im getting some great sounds.
but i wondered if it is possible to assign sounds from the juno to different strings of the guitar?
As a beginner Im guessing that the strings are treated as separate channels and there may be a way of getting the juno to assign sounds to each channel, but how i have no idea how to?
e.g. it would be good to have a range of sounds like a bass sound on the bass e string, an synth sound on the a and d strings strings, an organ on the g string string and an fx sound on the b and e strings thats the kind of thing im looking to achieve.

Any tips on how best to set up the vg-99 with the juno G would also be greatly appreciated.

thanks for your help.
i have the manuals for the juno g and vg99

really pleased i jumped into the midi guitar world, so many possibilities to explore, looking forward to it.

Elantric

#1 Good New - i also own a Juno G and VG-99

#2 Bad News -my time is overbooked and cant see my way to having free time until 2015

But you will want to explore having the VG-99 transmit using MIDI Mono Mode. See VG-99 OM Page 164

MIDI MODE This sets the transmission mode for the MIDI messages.
MIDI MONO -  In this mode, one channel per string is used, thus using a total of six channels.
Since each string uses a different MIDI channel, you can select a different tone for each
string, using string bending or continuously varying the pitch on a specific string; however, this requires use of a multitimbral sound module.

Read how to set the Juno G as a  multitimbral sound module here on page 11